Halloween Homeware: Unusual Vintage Gifts

This weekend I was busy making some Halloween inspired display plates; up-cycled from vintage homeware to create unique pieces of art for the walls. I spend my weekends searching for beautiful vintage china tea plates, cups and saucers to create into new pieces as gifts for the home. With Halloween only a few weeks away, here’s what I created:

image

Halloween Witch Plate by Lavinia’s Tea Party

This is the first Witch plate I have created, I’m pleased with the outcome, the witch in black works really well with the autumnal/fall colour theme of the china tea plate. The bone china plate features an unusual pattern of brown, beige and yellow leaves with pink flowers and a gold edge. Measures 18 cms or 7 inches, is a one off art piece at just £15.00 in the Etsy store.

Heart Plate

Anatomical Heart Plate by Lavinia’s Tea Party

A pretty vintage tea plate with pink and purple roses, which I’ve added a black anatomical heart to. The plate has a faint gold edge. It was originally made in Poland by Victoria from bone china.
Measures 16 cms or 6 1/4 inches. It is a one off piece and only £15.00 in my Etsy Store.

image

Skull Plate by Lavinia’s Tea Party

A gorgeous vintage tea plate with pink roses and green leaves with a gold edge, which I’ve added this black skull to. The contrast of quaint floral and a black harsh skull, make these wall plates quite popular as alternative gifts. This china plate was made in England by Gainsborough from fine bone china. Measures 16 cms or 6 inches, again for a one off costs just £15.00. I’ve made many skull plates on different patterned tea plates, so if you are looking for different colours schemes have a look at the Alternative Art Plates section of my Etsy Store.

image

Black Cat Halloween Brooch by Lavinia’s Tea Party

It wouldn’t be Halloween without the mention of a black cat. Here I have created a lovely brooch to wear to work or college, on a jumper or cardigan. The brooch is made from wood and the great thing about this pin is that nearly everybody loves cats, so it’ll make a cute Christmas or birthday present, and can be worn all year round, not just at Halloween. It measures roughly 5 x 3.5 cms or 2 x 1 1/4 inches, is £5.00 in the Brooches section of Lavinia’s Tea Party Etsy Store.

Leave a comment